8 Mile House

8 Mile House-Experience California Tranquility at this Historical Ranch Home!




4 Bedrooms, 2 Baths
Sleeps up to 8
1 King
3 Queen
Dogs allowed with additional pet fee.

Average Guest Rating:







Description

When you stay at the 8 Mile House, you will enjoy a sense of old California serenity with all of the modern comforts you could want, including four historically themed guest rooms, a scenic covered porch and a large outdoor patio, dining table and barbecue. The standalone party barn is great for watching the game, serving up drinks and hanging out! Elements of the original 19th-century structure are found in nearly every aspect of the property, while apple trees, pomegranate, persimmon trees and grapevines provide a timeless ambiance that is rooted in the ranch’s agricultural heritage. The home sits on 3 acres, surrounded by hiking and biking trails located 5 minutes away. Built by the Bean brothers in 1877, this home is exactly eight miles from the mission town of San Luis Obispo—a meaningful distance at the time of its creation. Located at the north base of the steep Cuesta Grade on the original El Camino Real, the home was used as a hotel for travelers making their way up or down the grade. The travelers could park their heavily loaded wagons, seek overnight lodging and even rent extra teams of horses for their journey across the grade. Today, the 8 Mile House stands as a testament to Santa Margarita Ranch's tradition of “early California rancho hospitality.” Originally settled by Franciscan missionaries in the late 1700s, Santa Margarita Ranch is still one of California’s oldest continuously operated cattle ranches—and is today best known as the home of Ancient Peaks Winery. The 8 Mile House ultimately reflects a love of history and a joy in sharing the ranch with others—a passion that is evident in all of the little details that make this place so special. Located less than 20 minutes from Shell or Avila Beach, and Santa Margarita Lake (a great fishing spot), 5 minutes from wine tasting/zip ling and only 15 minutes from Downtown San Luis Obispo. ***Five Star Coffee Program- We start your stay with a supply of coffee, filters, coffee pods, cream, and sugar for our provided drip and pod-style coffee makers onsite at every home ***Dogs are only allowed with an additional $25/night per dog fee. The pet fee is not included in the 'initial quote'. Please let us know if you will be bringing a dog(s) during your stay, so we can charge accordingly.*** .***Wi-Fi and/or power outages can occur periodically in our small town and rural settings, over which we have no control*** ***We continue to implement our already rigorous cleaning protocols along with an added layer of disinfecting, as we finalize for each guest arrival.*** County Permit # 6008975 Paso Robles Vacation Rentals® is your local expert! Please contact us with questions about restaurants, wineries and fun things to do on the central coast!

Amenities

Health and Safety Enhanced cleaning practices, Clean with disinfectant, No-contact check-in and check-out, High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant, Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF, SafeHome (VRMA & VRHP)

Living Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Central Air/Heat, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board/Iron, Quality Linens & Towels, Hairdryer

Business Wireless Internet, Nearby Post Office

Entertainment DirecTV

Kitchen Stainless Appliances, Gas Stove, Coffee Maker, Cookware/Pots & Pans, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Refrigerator w/icemaker & water

Outdoor Outdoor Grill, Outdoor Seating and Dining Areas

Convenience 7 Area Golf Courses, Close to Water Park, Close to Wineries, Day Trips to Beaches & Wineries, Hearst Castle & Cambria Nearby, Hiking Trails, Lakes San Antonio and Nacimiento, Miles of Wine Trails, Nearby Churches, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Children Allowed, Santa Margarita Lake, Santa Margarita Zipline, Cayucos Beach, Morro Bay, Morro Rock

Local Activities Wine Festivals, Art Galleries, California Mid State Fairgrounds, Central Coast Destinations, Close to California Missions, Concert Venues, Hearst Castle, Library, Museums, Olive Oil Farm nearby, Paso Robles Event Center, Symphony Orchestra, Children's Museum, Paso Robles Downtown Library, Concerts in Park & at Wineries, Atascadero Zoo, Antique Stores, Art Galleries, Paso Robles Event Center, Ocean Fishing, Ocean Kayaking

Address

18781 Old Highway 101
Santa Margarita, CA 93453


Reviews

Beautiful, historic home outside SLO

We were blown away by this property. A true gem 8 miles from SLO — it never took us more than 15 minutes to get to town, and yet you're far enough from the city that we were able to watch the shooting stars of the Perseid meteor shower at night. Very clean and organized, with all the amenities you'll need, and then some. More than worth it for a family or group. The road noise is very noticeable when you're sitting outside, but barely audible inside the house. - Anonymous, Culver City, CA

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


8 Mile House

Great house, clean & well stocked. Good communication & friendly, helpful staff when I contacted them regarding an issue with the dryer. Would definitely stay here again. A little noisy with the freeway right in front of house, but overall enjoyed the stay & property. Only complaint was after washing a load of clothes, found that the dryer did not work. - Cindy M., Hanford, CA

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes

Response from Paso Robles Vacation Rentals®

So glad you enjoyed your stay at 8 Mile House! We've gotten that issue with the dryer handled and appreciate you contacting us during your stay, so we could provide rapid service. We look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks, Beth, PasoStay


8mile review

A great place for a larger group to spend time together. We had 4 couples and it was spacious, very cute, and well set up. Would recommend! - Anonymous, Napa, California

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Great Stay

The house exceeded our expectations. It was very meticulously appointed and you can tell that the owners took great care in every detail. Every morning we were greeted by turkeys, peacocks, and hummingbirds. The house was very spacious with plenty of seating and was very clean throughout. Beds and linens were very comfortable.

A tad hard to find, for the timid driver, but well worth it. The provided coordinates are a must for mapping the house for directions. Quite noisy on the outside back-patio due to the nearby 101 freeway, but very quiet inside. No trains came by in the evening, and we were away most times during the day, so there was not much bother from the nearby train tracks. All in all, it was very comfortable and quaint, and we can't wait to return. - James Y., Thousand Oaks, CA

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Our stay in the historic 8 Mile House

We loved our stay at 8 Mile House. This included everything from the peacocks and wild turkeys drinking out of the fountain next to the home, the horseshoe and corn hole games, and large, open spaces. - Timothy E., LEMOORE, CA

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Beautiful - Off the Beaten Path

Everything with the property was advertised as expected and was lovely, clean and a great place for a group reunion. I found the location a bit trickier even than the directions state to locate the home and it was a bit far out for my preference but was overall a great place. - Anonymous, Columbia, MD

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Amazing Time !

The 8 Mile House was a real charmer. The house was super clean and had everything you would ever need for a wonderful stay. We plan on returning again ! - Rebecca C., ,

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Perfect house for a girls trip!

The house is quiet and very comfortable with a great outdoor space. Plus there are peacocks showing off their feathers every morning! - Amie L., Los Angeles, CA

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Great place for a weekend getaway

This house was the perfect place to spend the weekend with old friends. Everything from checking in, cleanliness, charm, and amenities were excellent. We also all agreed that the beds and sheets were really comfortable. This place was more than enough to accommodate all 3 couples and 2 kids.

The only negative is that we had some trouble finding the place off the grade, especially in the dark. Be sure to use Google maps. - Anonymous, ,

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


great for family

we had six adults and two kids. plenty of seating, amazing fully stocked kitchen, and beautiful scenery. you are close to the freeway but you can’t hear inside. i will definitely be back! - Anonymous, Santa Monica, Ca

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes


Family trip to the Central Coast

A beautiful home, clean, well maintained, and updated. Lovely landscaping, tranquil water fountain, happy birds and peacocks welcomed us upon arrival. Great comfy beds and pillows. The location offers great privacy. It is next to the 101 freeway, so there is some road noise but not an issue for us. The access road entering/exiting to get to this house is not for the faint of heart. Be prepared, and ready- cars zipping downhill fast. Super helpful to enter the GPS Location Coordinates in Google Maps to know exactly when to turn. Overall a great and comfortable stay for our family. A memorable place! - Anonymous, San Francisco, CA

Overall satisfaction
Property condition
Location
Cleanliness
Services from rental manager
Recommend to Others Yes